grill anxiety disorder and grilled sesame-teriyaki chicken

IMG_5650

Grill Anxiety Disorder – I have it. It’s a sporadic case that only attacks me when I’m grilling fish or chicken. (Just ask my cousin’s husband – I interrogated him before letting him grill our chicken. He won’t ever let me forget it. But I’m not sorry – you can never be too careful.) In my defense, I have mastered all other things grilled (steaks, pizza, even peaches). But these two make me nervous – maybe it comes from a childhood where our burgers were big baseballs of meat that were brown on the outside and mooing on the inside? Who knows.

But the only way to conquer a fear is to face it. (Note about above photo: Notice that one chicken thigh that’s partially hidden under the legs – the one that’s black? I ate that one – just to be safe.)

Every month, Taste & Create has a brilliant event. Foodie bloggers are paired, then have a few weeks to cook and post about a recipe found on their partner’s blog. This is my first time joining in the fun, and my partner is Natalie from What’s for Supper?

There are many yummy recipes on Natalie’s site, but I knew I wanted to make a main dish. With the weather finally sunny up here in CT, I adapted this Sesame-Teriyaki Chicken for the grill. It was delicious – ALL of the little foodies and foodie husband loved it, so I’m glad I doubled the recipe. I added a bit more ginger and red pepper to give the chicken an extra kick and served it with sauteed sugar snap peas and warm bread.

IMG_5633 IMG_5638

Sesame-Teriyaki Chicken

adapted from The Food You Crave: Luscious Recipes for a Healthy Life

  • 1/4 cup low-sodium soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons dry sherry
  • 2 tablespoons rice vinegar
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed with a garlic press or minced
  • 1 teaspoon finely grated fresh ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 2 pounds skinless chicken thighs (I also used drumsticks)
  • 2 teaspoons sesame seeds
  1. Combine the soy sauce, sugar, sherry, vinegar, garlic, ginger, and red pepper flakes and stir until the sugar dissolves.
  2. Transfer to a resealable plastic bag and add the chicken. Seal the bag and marinate the chicken in the refrigerator, turning once, for 1 hour or up to 4 hours.
  3. Heat the grill to medium high (about 425ºF). Brush the grill with some oil to prevent sticking (I use tongs and a wadded paper towel dipped in canola oil).
  4. Place chicken on the grill skin side down. Turn grill down to medium, and cook undisturbed for 8-10 minutes. Flip chicken over and cook for another 8-10 minutes, or until a thermometer inserted into the thickest part of the chicken reads approximately 170ºF.
  5. Sprinkle with sesame seeds and serve.
One thought on “grill anxiety disorder and grilled sesame-teriyaki chicken

Leave a Reply

