my new baby

No. Not that kind of baby.

My husband, G, is good to me. He always gets me a card for my birthday, usually gets me a gift, sometimes cooks me dinner, and occasionally all three. And this was an all-three year.

Because we weren’t home when the delivery man came last week, we got a note saying that UPS was holding my birthday package hostage. Let me back up and say that I am rarely surprised. Even when my sweet friends planned a “surprise” baby shower for me, I knew. (G had taken my “need-before-baby-comes” list and copied it, then didn’t put it back. Don’t mess with a mom-to-be’s baby list.) So I had some inkling (and hope) as to what this year’s surprise would be – and that sticky note (and later that night, my husband) confirmed it. I almost kissed my UPS man when he delivered the package the next day.

Here’s my new baby:

353_25446_D90_front

And this one came with a manual!

I have a long way to go to master (or even use effectively) this camera. My photography classes from college, the hours in the darkroom, the books weighing down my bookshelves – all completely useless. This digital creature is a whole new beast. As I am creeping my way through the user’s manual, I am longing for a Nikon for Dummies (do they even have that?) to translate all the terms. If you have any advice or resources, give a shout out to this new mom. I need all the help I can get!

Here are a couple of photos taken with the new camera, as well as the photos from yesterday’s post.

DSC_0046

DSC_0152

All partied out.

All partied out.

And here Birthday Week ends. Until next year…when my baby will be one year older and I, hopefully one year wiser.

3 thoughts on “my new baby

  1. Oh, yes! Here’s what you need – “Magic Lantern Guide Camera Manual for Nikon D2Xs & D2X” by Kevin Spreekmeester. I don’t know if amazon has it but Adorama (great photo site) does. I have the edition for my camera. I have a feeling that it would be even more helpful if I read it a bit more frequently. It was recommended by one of my photo mentors.

Leave a Reply

