a basket of cherries

When I read this recipe at Smitten Kitchen, I knew I had to make it. A homemade Pop Tart? With fresh sour cherry filling? That rivals even chocolate.

So when I saw these cherries at my local market, I bought them.

DSC_0006

I’ve never baked with sour or tart cherries before, and the husband doesn’t like cooked cherries; but still, I could almost taste the puckery sweetness and knew the result would be delicious. I was right.

But not all went as planned. Because I am a mom of four, am exhausted by 9:30 p.m. (which is when the craving struck), and am slightly lazy, I used a sheet of puff pastry to make the cherry tart. I had wanted to use the second sheet of pastry to cover the cherries, which would’ve created a sort of giant turnover. But I just couldn’t cover these beauties.

DSC_0012

DSC_0018

DSC_0036

I’m not sure if this creation is a tart, a pastry, or an open-faced Pop Tart. But whatever its name, I ate it. Alone. And loved every bite.

Easy Sour Cherry Tart

from foodie plus 4

  • 1 sheet puff pastry, thawed
  • 2–3 cups sour cherries, rinsed and pitted (I used fresh; not sure how frozen will work)
  • 1/2–3/4 cup sugar (depending on how sweet you like it)
  • 2 teaspoons lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons corn starch
  • pinch of salt
  1. Preheat oven to 375°F. Line sheet pan with parchment paper.
  2. Unfold sheet of puff pastry on parchment.
  3. In pan, combine the remaining ingredients and simmer until thickened, about 8–10 minutes. Remove from heat and cool slightly, about 5 minutes.
  4. Spoon cherry filling onto the puff pastry, leaving an inch around the edges (you may have extra filling; it’s great over vanilla ice cream).
  5. Fold up the sides of the puff pastry to trap the filling.
  6. Bake for approximately 20 minutes or until the edges are golden and the filling is bubbly.
  7. Serves 6 normal people. Or 1 hungry foodie.
4 thoughts on “a basket of cherries

  1. I believe this is called a galette. I make two from the Silver Palate girls: one similar to your recipe but using rhubarb, the second one savory, using potatoes instead of puff pastry (Rosemary Potato Galette, The New Basics p. 277). Your cherry version definitely looked good enough to consume without sharing and seems quick and easy to make – thanks for the inspiration!

  2. I found some fresh sour cherries that I had frozen and I have a box of puff pastry that I need to use up- so your creation will make the grade! I’ll let you know how it turns out. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

