shrooms

DSC_0039

It wasn’t until my later years of high school that I began to appreciate mushrooms. I had been introduced badly. I still remember the day when I was about 5 or 6 years old. My mother was getting ready for a dinner party (one of many) in our Long Island home. She was stirring the pots and thrusting trays into the oven. And when she tossed the spinach salad, she had me try a slice of raw mushroom. Yuck! It tasted like chewy dirt. I vowed never to eat another fungus.

DSC_0032

shroom

Fast forward to the late-80s when a common dish known as Veal Marsala would shatter that vow. I had always loved veal, which was introduced at a tender age via Swanson’s frozen food (sadly, the veal cutlet/spaghetti pairing is no longer available). Those Marsala meals, be it chicken or veal, marked the beginning of my culinary walk with fungus. Now, any menu item or recipe is instantly tantalizing with the addition of cooked mushrooms. I can’t say I’m crazy about raw mushrooms, but I’ll eat them if necessary (even though they still taste like dirt—as do beets).

Mushroom Crostini

from foodie friend Donna

  • 1 French baguette, sliced
  • olive oil
  • coarse salt
  • 8 ounces mushrooms, washed and sliced
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  1. Set the oven to broil.
  2. Lay out the baguette slices in a single layer on a baking sheet.
  3. Brush the slices with oil, then sprinkle with coarse salt.
  4. Broil until just golden around the edges.
  5. Remove from the oven and set aside.
  6. In a medium sauté pan, melt butter. Add mushrooms and cook for a few minutes, until the mushrooms begin to release their liquid.
  7. Add Worcestershire sauce and continue to cook until mushrooms are tender and the liquid has reduced.
  8. Spoon onto crostini and serve.
3 thoughts on “shrooms

Leave a Reply

