putting the garden to bed

Other than some stubborn herbs, the garden has breathed its final breath of the season. It was a lousy year for tomatoes, which to our household of tomato lovers means why did we bother with a garden at all. But then I see these photos of how other plants and veggies grew and how much the kids enjoyed our small harvest, and it seems the good has outweighed the lack of homegrown Insalata Caprese.

DSC_0018

DSC_0009

DSC_0007

Our last harvest...some carrots, red peppers, and multi-colored potatoes.

Our last harvest...some carrots, red peppers, and multi-colored potatoes.

DSC_0114

DSC_0115

I must remind myself that as ordinary as a garden may seem to me after so many years, the awe of seeing something beautiful and tasty produced from a tiny seed is not lost on my children and their friends. Their shrieks of delight when they discover that a seed has sprouted or a vegetable has ripened gives me a momentary glimpse of a time when I, too, was full of wonder and discovery. I don’t know at what age we lose that bubbly, uninhibited joy found in the simple things, but I’m content for now just to be surrounded by those who still celebrate life’s small miracles.

Best friends.

Best friends.

2 thoughts on “putting the garden to bed

  1. Pingback: putting the garden to bed…for real « Foodie plus 4

Leave a Reply

