autumn dinner part 1: brussels sprouts

sprouts

This is the first time that I have cooked brussels sprouts. I think. I really can’t remember. But I know I’ve never cooked them for my children. I saw this beautiful stalk at the store, and I was enamored immediately. They looked so fresh and green that I had to bring them home and introduce them to my children.

My little foodies were amazed at this bounty of sprouts. O and W made quick work of the plucking, which they did quite well, while I scoured epicurious for a recipe.

DSC_0083

But W’s favorite part wasn’t really eating them, it was playing with the spiked mace club:

DSC_0086

For anyone who has not cooked brussels sprouts before, I would recommend this recipe. It was very good with a slightly creamy sauce. These fresh sprouts were not at all bitter, and even though not all the little foodies liked them, a couple would eat them again.

The first thing I did (after the plucking) was to trim and soak the sprouts. If there are any curled or torn outer leaves, I cut those off along with any protruding stem. Soaking them in warm water gets off any dirt or sand.

DSC_0090

DSC_0097

And then follow this recipe. This was only part of an incredibly flavorful fall meal we made. Part two (it involves figs) will be in another post.

DSC_0107

DSC_0137

DSC_0146

Brussels Sprouts with Marjoram and Pine Nuts

from epicurious

  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 1/2 cup pine nuts
  • 1 1/2 pounds fresh brussels sprouts, halved, or 1 1/2 pounds frozen brussels sprouts, thawed, halved
  • 1 cup canned low-salt chicken broth
  • 2 shallots, minced [I used red onion instead]
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh marjoram
  • 1/3 cup whipping cream
  1. Melt 1 tablespoon butter in heavy large skillet over medium heat. Add nuts and stir until golden, about 3 minutes. Transfer nuts to small bowl.
  2. Melt 1 tablespoon butter in same skillet over medium heat. Add sprouts; stir 1 minute. Add broth; cover and simmer until sprouts are almost tender, about 7 minutes. Uncover and simmer until broth evaporates, about 5 minutes.
  3. Using wooden spoon, push sprouts to sides of skillet. Melt 1 tablespoon butter in center of same skillet. Add shallots; sauté until tender, about 2 minutes.
  4. Stir in marjoram, then cream. Simmer until sprouts are coated with cream, stirring frequently, about 4 minutes.
  5. Season with salt and pepper. (Can be made 4 hours ahead. Cover and chill. Stir over medium heat to rewarm.)
  6. Transfer brussels sprouts to serving platter. Mix in half of pine nuts. Sprinkle with remaining pine nuts.
  7. Serves 8.
8 thoughts on “autumn dinner part 1: brussels sprouts

  1. Brussels Sprouts are the favorite veg. at our house. We sautee them with bacon and shallots, and we also roast them with olive oil salt and pepper. They are so good roasted! We are having them tonight, in fact.

  2. Pingback: autumn dinner part 2: pork with fig chutney « Foodie plus 4

  3. I love brussels sprouts! When my children were really young though, my husband (who thought he was funny and use to hate brussels sprouts) would whisper “they’re turtle poop! … don’t eat them”. Today, they all adore these treasures. The secret is not cooking the life out of them.

  4. I tried these on one of my cooking clients last week and BLAM! they were a hit.
    I, of course, had to test-taste and yup…..they are wonderful. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

