try this: cuban black beans

Every time I go to Trader Joe’s, I leave wondering what what goodies I should have bought but didn’t.  I’m always trying their new products, but I only go once a month, so I know I’m missing out on something.  So in case you are a curious foodie who happens to live near a TJ’s, here’s one to try.  Cuban Black Beans.  What are they and how do you use them?  I wasn’t sure, but by the time I found out, my whole family had devoured a spontaneous meal that I mistakenly thought would last two nights.

These beans need no other seasoning.  They are spicy but not fiery hot. In addition to being mixed with rice, they would be an excellent side dish with pork or chicken or tucked in a taco or quesadilla.

black beans

blk bean plate

For more Works-For-Me-Wednesday tips, check out We Are THAT Family.

Rice with Steak and Cuban Black Beans

from foodie plus 4

[click for printable recipe]

  • cooked Basmati rice
  • leftover steak, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 1 small yellow or purple onion, sliced
  • 1 avocado, pitted and chopped
  • 1 can TJ’s Cuban-Style Black Beans
  • salsa
  • sour cream
  1. Sauté the onions and peppers in a tablespoon of olive oil.
  2. Warm the beans in a pan.
  3. Mix together the rice, beans, steak, and onions and peppers.
  4. Serve on plates with chopped avocado, salsa, and sour cream.
4 thoughts on “try this: cuban black beans

Leave a Reply

