try this: pasta with cajun andouille sausage

I love pork.  I think I get this from my dad, the southern half of my genetics.  BBQ, pulled pork, bacon, even scrapple (I know, isn’t that terrible)—I eat and enjoy them all.  Especially sausage.  My dad is partial to Jimmy Dean’s hot sausage (the kind you buy in a roll and slice into patties).  And while I love a crispy Jimmy Dean patty soaked in maple syrup, I also like the more creative sausages, such as this Cajun-Style Andouille.

XN40L

Aidells has some amazingly creative sausages, such as Chicken and Apple, Habanero and Green Chile, Spinach and Feta, and Spicy Mango and Jalapeno.  My grocer only carries three of the many varieties, and the Cajun Andouille is my favorite.  I used it sliced thinly on grilled pizza this summer, and last week I tossed chunks with pasta.  Although the sausage is a bit spicy, the sweetness of the sun-dried tomatoes offers a nice contrast.  We usually pass the Parmesan and micrograter around the table, rather than adding it to the serving bowl.  Yum.

pan

bowl

sausage

Pasta with Cajun Andouille Sausage

from foodie plus 4

[click here for printable recipe]

  • 1 pound pasta, cooked
  • 1 package (4 links) Aidells Cajun-Style Andouille Sausage, sliced
  • 1 medium onion, halved then sliced
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, cut into short strips
  • 1/2 green bell pepper, cut into short strips
  • 1/4 cup oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes, cut into strips
  • 1 small ball of fresh mozzarella, cubed
  • 1/2 cup of grated Parmesan or Pecorino Romano cheese
  1. Boil and drain pasta, toss with olive oil, cover and set aside.
  2. In a medium pan on medium heat, sauté sausage until slightly browned.
  3. Add pepper and onions.  Sauté until veggies are crisp-cooked, about 7 minutes.
  4. Transfer pasta to a large serving bowl.  Add the sausage/veggie mix and sun-dried tomatoes and toss.
  5. Top with mozzarella and shredded Parmesan or Pecorino.

 

One thought on “try this: pasta with cajun andouille sausage

Leave a Reply

