frozen chai tea smoothie

I’ve been all about comfort food lately.  The leaves have fallen, and the weather was cold (29 degrees the other night), which in my mind translate into soups, stews, and hot bowls of goodness.  But when it hit 71 degrees here a couple of days ago, this frozen chai tea smoothie recipe was all I could think about.  It was like a mirage that was just out of reach.  I had seen the recipe the week before in a friend’s Rachael Ray magazine but didn’t think I’d be making a frozen smoothie until 2010.  How wrong I was.  Between laying on cushionless lawn furniture (we’d already stored the cushions for the winter) soaking in the sunshine and taking walks with the kids before the impending snow season, I went to the store to make us (mainly me) some of these:

DSC_0163

The recipe is perfect as is.  I only added a dallop more of frozen yogurt with a puddle of honey on top for an extra treat.  What really makes this drink is not the tea, but the spices.  There is no better flavor than freshly ground nutmeg.  And the cardamom—yum.  There is no substitute.  I used some that Cyndi brought me from Finland, and I noticed it was originally imported from Guatemala. It’s traveled more than I have.

Enjoy, especially those of you in the still-hot southern states.

DSC_0050

DSC_0105

Globetrotting cardamom.

DSC_0109

DSC_0140

DSC_0157

For more ideas, click over to Works-For-Me-Wednesday at We Are THAT Family.

Frozen Chai Tea Smoothie

from Simon Majumdar, author of Eat My Globe

[printable recipe]

  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 2 cinnamon sticks
  • 5 whole cloves
  • One 1-inch piece of ginger, finely chopped
  • 7 bags black tea (I used Twinings English Breakfast)
  • 1 pint low-fat vanilla frozen yogurt
  • 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon ground cardamom
  • 3 cups ice cubes
  1. In a saucepan, combine 1 cup water, honey, cinnamon sticks, cloves, and ginger over low heat.  Cover and simmer for 10 minutes.
  2. Remove from the heat, add the tea bags, and let steep for 5 minutes.  Strain, then let the tea cool for 20 minutes.
  3. Using a blender, combine the tea, frozen yogurt, nutmeg, and cardamom.  Add the ice cubes and blend until smooth.
4 thoughts on “frozen chai tea smoothie

Leave a Reply

