food coma

It seems ironic that during this festively foodie time of year, I have had little desire to write a post.  Could I possibly be sick of food?  Heavens, no.  But from the recipe searching, list making, shopping, prepping, cooking, transporting, then finally eating, food has had all of my attention.  I had the three sisters and a dear friend over for a holiday brunch the day before Thanksgiving (photos and recipe for cinnamon rolls coming soon), then we celebrated the big day with friends and a household of 20 (12 of whom were children), and finally, we took the little foodies to the Radio City Christmas Spectacular on Monday for an early Christmas gift (with a visit to Crumbs, of course).  Did I mention I need to shop for four children, four siblings, and in-laws?

So while my kids learn from the television and get their exercise from the Wii (sort of kidding), I thought I’d catch up on blogging.  My iPhoto files are busting at the seams, so I’ll share some highlights from Thanksgiving, which I must say was one of the most fun and relaxing I can remember.  Check out our hostess Jennifer’s account of the famous desserts here.

(I’ll follow up with my two favorite recipes I made from Thanksgiving in a separate post.)

We warmed up with some volleyball.  The parents cheered.  From inside.

The deep-fried turkey was delicious.

Shadow stalks her dream meal.

Shadow cannot believe her luck! Alone with the bird!

Totally busted.

The sides and desserts more than satisfied the multitudes.

A new favorite of mine is Jennifer’s vegetable casserole.  It was so tasty and definitely put me on the naughty list for having too many helpings.  And seeing the recipe only confirmed what I already knew: any vegetable dish with “casserole” in its name is automatically rendered unhealthy but undeniably delicious.

Mixed Vegetable Casserole

by foodie friend Jennifer

[print recipe]

  • 1 large package frozen mixed vegetables
  • 1 cup grated cheese
  • 1 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 cup celery, chopped
  • 1 stick margarine or butter
  • 1 sleeve of saltines, crushed
  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. Cook vegetables according to instructions.  Transfer veggies to a greased casserole dish.
  3. In a bowl, mix together onions, celery, cheese, and mayo.  Spread over vegetables.
  4. Melt margarine and mix with cracker crumbs.  Sprinkle over top of the casserole.
  5. Bake 45 minutes or until top is golden and crispy (see photo above).
4 thoughts on “food coma

  1. Wow, what a great post. You gave us a peek at the future US Olympic girls volleyball team, some luscious culinary delights, (I just love those snatchable deviled eggs, and one of my relatives caught in the act! Have Shadow read “A canines Thanksgiving lesson” on my blog so he doesn’t tempt fate again. Also if you look at the blog post before there’s a great breakfast recipe mixed inwith some laughs. Visit me at http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

  2. I think this would be a hit with one of my cooking clients! But for an elderly lady, the saltines sound like too much sodium. What do you think about forgoing the butter and using plain Panko on top?

Leave a Reply

