canadian sweets: where have you been all my life?

Even though my husband cringed every time I dug out my camera in a restaurant or store, there were some things in Mont Tremblant that I could not let pass me by without a digital reminder.  I think anyone who loves chocolate and sugar will agree.  Forget the miles of snowy ski trails, the beautiful frozen lake, the twinkling lights along the pedestrian village streets; what really impressed me was the chocolate and other sugary treats. And there were a lot of them, so this is a lengthy post.  I’ll break it down into three sections: Chocolate, Animal Parts and Organic Fun.  Something for everyone.

The Chocolate

A store that has vats of melted chocolate (dark and milk) ready for dipping is every child’s (and this adult’s) fantasy.  I was quick with the camera before the shopkeeper told me no photographs were allowed.  Oh, well.  We indulged in two types of fudge and a chocolate-covered brownie.  Chocolate-covered marshmallows with M&Ms and chocolate-covered Twizzlers with sprinkles?  We had to draw the line somewhere.

The Animal Parts

Elsewhere in town, we happened upon the famous Beaver Tails walk-up window.  The little foodies were nervous about ordering an animal’s (or is a beaver a glorified rodent?) extremity, but after they saw the menu and smelled the fried aroma, all fear vanished.  This fried dough can be slathered with any number of toppings: apples and caramel, oreo, Nutella, cinnamon sugar, or chocolate with M&Ms.  We tried the oreo and the cinnamon sugar. Luckily, I had my trusty point-and-shoot tucked in my pocket to capture this gourmet experience.

The Organic Fun

For all you nature lovers out there, this one’s for you!  I have to say this was probably our favorite and most unexpected treat: maple syrup taffy.  We walked by this Sugar Shack (whose website photos were last updated in 1982 it seems) by accident after skiing one day and wondered what they were doing.  It didn’t take long to figure out that we needed to get some of what everyone around us was eating off tongue depressors.  We decided to try this at home, but after arriving back in CT, there isn’t enough snow.  We’re hoping for one more big snowfall so we can try this ourselves.  As you can see from the photos, the kids didn’t waste any time rolling their taffy.  Only G had the patience to wait for the camera.

3 thoughts on “canadian sweets: where have you been all my life?

  1. Makes us want to go! Looks like the cutest and yummiest place on earth.
    So glad your family got to get away.
    Love you guys! Kimberly

Leave a Reply

