blondies

I love a good brownie.  But I’ve been distracted on my quest for the perfect brownie by these:

For anyone who thinks a blondie is just a square chocolate chip cookie, try these.  A good blondie (in my opinion) has a much richer, buttery taste and denser texture than your typical cookie bar.  I like my blondies with or without nuts, but to me the batter, not the chocolate, is the star.  Good chocolate cannot save a crumbly bland bar.  That being said, the goodies do count toward the total taste success.  I like pecans rather than walnuts because…well, I’m not sure why; that’s just the way it is.

I’m willing to try other blondie recipes, and I’m definitely still searching for my favorite brownie recipe, but we will consume many more of these treasures for years to come.

Blondies

from Cook’s Illustrated

Note: We left out the white chocolate and used 8 oz. semisweet chips instead of the white and bittersweet chocolates.

[print recipe]

  • 1 cup pecans, chopped
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded coconut
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 12 tablespoons unsalted butter (1 1/2 sticks), melted and cooled
  • 1 1/2 cups light brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 4 teaspoons vanilla
  • 4 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped
  • 4 ounces white chocolate, chopped
  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.  Grease a 9 x 13 glass/ceramic baking dish.
  2. Whisk together flour, baking powder and salt in a bowl.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together melted butter and brown sugar until combined.  Add eggs and vanilla and mix well.
  4. Fold in dry ingredients to the butter mixture with a spatula until just combined.
  5. Fold in chocolate, coconut and nuts.
  6. Pour into prepared pan, smoothing top with a spatula.
  7. Bake 25–30 minutes.  DO NOT overbake.  Top will be shiny and gloden brown when done. Cool to room temperature on a wire rack before cutting.
One thought on “blondies

Leave a Reply

