coconut cream pie

There aren’t many desserts that can surpass a coconut cream pie. On one of our many (four, but who’s counting) snow days, my baker daughter asked if she could make something.  Working in the loft on the computer, I said sure and continued my business.  K had a friend over, and they were busily discussing and giggling about who had put what into the recipe. I was braced for disaster, especially when one of them almost mistook salt for sugar. Oh well, I thought. At least I have some chocolate chips in the pantry if things get ugly.

After K and friend bundled up and dashed into the snow with the others, I made my way downstairs.  I knew it was a good sign when I saw the Sweet Melissa’s book open and dusted with flour.  There aren’t any baking books that make me salivate like this one.  And when I peeked in the oven, I was praying those girls hadn’t goofed.  Coconut cream pie. In my oven. With homemade crust. And I didn’t have to lift a finger.  Does a snow day get any better than this?  Oh, yes it does. Because the timer beeped while all four foodies and friends were outside.  So I did the right thing and took out the pie.  And I looked at it and smelled it.  I took some photos.  I smelled it again and cut a slice for some more photos.  And I had a bite in complete silence without anyone else eating off my plate or begging me for more.  How did it taste, you wonder?  The smile says it all.

If you are looking for the recipe, you’ll have to buy the book or see if your library has it.  I couldn’t find it previously published on the Web and don’t have the energy to type it out.  The book has more than paid for itself in eating pleasure.  Although now that I think of it, a friend gave it to me.  But you get the idea.  And if you have any doubts, you can revisit these recipes by clicking here.

One thought on “coconut cream pie

Leave a Reply

