my kids are smarter than I am

Because the little foodies were cooking dinner once a week this summer, W got in the habit of making “ours derves” or “apperderves”, depending on his mood. These tasty tidbits were presented on various plates and usually involved marshmallows and chocolate.

Here is the latest installment (we were out of marshmallows).

This is the Melting Volcano, also known as a stoned wheat thin topped with a chocolate chip, Hershey’s syrup and fall-theme sprinkles for the hot lava.

That was impressive enough. Then my 9-year-old daughter decided to get into the action with this:

“Oh!” I said. “Those must be two volcanoes with lava flowing down them.”

She sighed as she corrected me. “No, Mom. That is igneous rock.”

Of course it is.

2 thoughts on “my kids are smarter than I am

Leave a Reply

