bites out part two: near and far

Food photos speak to me. When I peruse a recipe, I can usually imagine what it will taste like and whether or not I’ll like it. However, when I look at a photo in food magazines or see a dish on TV, it can make me salivate. That reaction is most likely followed by a mad dash to the store and a flurry of activity in the kitchen trying to recreate the magical dish.

I’m not sure I’ve learned enough about iPhone photography to make this restaurant fare induce drooling, however, the presentation of a dish speaks volumes about its creator. So think of these glimpses as a sneak peek inside these eateries. There’s nothing worse than arranging for a rare night out only to find the restaurant you’ve chosen a disappointment. (Note: A favorite App for seeing area restaurant food before entering the establishment is Foodspotting.)

Connecticut eats:

Pub 25 in Newtown: Veggie Wrap

Rizzuto’s in Bethel: Prosciutto Pizza

Mezon in Danbury: Sangria – the deep color almost makes this look dangerous.

Mezon in Danbury: Crab crostini with tomato and avocado.

Mezon in Danbury: Arugula salad with sunflower seeds and quinoa (and a little bit of cheese).

Mezon in Danbury: Salmon with jalapeno.

Mezon in Danbury: Grilled chorizo on white corn cakes (lamb skewers in the background).

Mezon in Danbury: Pulled chicken atop jalapeno with cilantro sprouts – who knew jalapenos could make you sweat?

New Hampshire:

Red Hill Dairy in NH: The perfect roll on a perfect day.

Ice cream after dinner in NH. The Good Humor man has a boat!

Downtown Grille and Cafe in Wolfeboro: Grilled turkey, avocado and pesto sandwich with light and crispy onion rings.

Crepes Ooh-La-La in Wolfeboro: As much as I tried to persuade him to order the Nutella, the little man persisted in choosing the cinnamon sugar crepe. At least I wasn’t tempted to eat it.

These meals were delicious, and there were countless other dishes lovingly prepared by, well, me, and our families that I didn’t get a chance to photograph because I was busy eating. Our weekend in Boston deserves its own post, so that will be Part Three. And then there are the cupcakes…

One thought on “bites out part two: near and far

  1. I hope this gets to you. Several years ago I downloaded your Christmas Molasses Sugar Cookies. I have made them to rave reviews – but even better they were the exact taste of my Grandmother’s cookies. Chewy center, crisp edge. So very good. Thank you thank you for a touchstone to the past. I have been experimenting with many recipes but this one hit it! Merry Merry Christmas!!

Leave a Reply

